We use cookies to make your experience of our website better. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies.

Staff and Board

The Leprosy Mission Northern Ireland has a small staff team of five based in Lisburn.

Joanne Briggs         National Director

Hazel Coulter          Database Administrator

Joy Jamieson           Office and Finance Manager

Peter Hilton             Church and School Engagement Officer

While each member of the team has specific responsibilities, managing different functions of what we do, we also regularly collaborate and support each other to ensure that we maximise our efforts to help cure, care for and restore people affected by leprosy in our 5 partner countries and are active members of The Leprosy Mission Global Fellowship.

Joanne Briggs

Joanne was appointed as National Director in 2014 having worked for    over 15 years in the voluntary, community and charitable sector prior to that. Joanne is committed to advocating on behalf of those who are marginalised and serving those who are most in need. She is passionate about putting faith into action and empowering others to be agents of change in our world. Joanne is married and has three children and attends her local church, Emmanuel Fellowship.

Our Trustees

The Leprosy Mission Northern Ireland is governed by a Board of Trustees who provide strategic oversight, governance and advice for our work across Northern Ireland. Our Board members are all volunteers and bring a wide variety of different experience and skills to our work.

Annual Trustee Report and Audited Accounts 2018

Office bearers are:

  • Chairperson - Mrs Fiona Davidson

    Fiona joined the Board of TLMNI in September 2012, serving as Board Chairperson from 2015. Initially training as a podiatrist, Fiona knew about the long-term disability and foot dysfunction that leprosy causes for many years before any involvement with the mission. Fiona has over 20 years’ experience in the management of both public sector and voluntary sector healthcare organisations. In particular she has an interest in organisational resilience and ensuring fitness for purpose.

  • Vice Chairperson – Rev Dr Isaac Thompson

    Isaac has been a member of the Board of Trustees since 1990. As a previous Board Chairman he has had the opportunity to represent TLMNI in India, Nepal, Dublin and England and believes strongly that the “Family of TLM” (the Global Fellowship) is a great strength which holds the work together as various cultural emphases blend together to reach out compassionately in Christ’s name to those who are afflicted with leprosy.  Isaac is a retired Presbyterian minister who remains active in church and civic life in Northern Ireland, holding key positions including President of The Presbyterian Children’s society and chaplain to the Royal Irish Regimental Association.  

  • Honorary Treasurer – Mr Lindsay Green

    Since 2010 Lindsay has been a TLM Church representative in his local church, Knock Presbyterian where he enjoys telling people about the work of the Mission and updating them on how their support is bringing about real change. In 2013, he become Honorary Treasurer of TLMNI, drawing on his past professional experience as a public sector auditor. He loves the holistic approach of TLM; the Christian example set by staff and volunteers local and international; and how far seemingly small sums of money go to transform lives in implementing countries!

Other Trustees are:

Mr Mark Noble

Mrs Miriam Johnston

Dr Margaret Wallace

Mr Gary Smith

Mr Tom Doran

Miss Naomi Hawthorne

We love to hear from our supporters

Get in touch

Contact us